scroll to top of page

FLMC Receives Covenant Health 2017 President’s Excellence Awards

Posted on November 22, 2017

Covenant Health celebrated the accomplishments of individual employees and collaborative teams throughout our health system at the inaugural President’s Excellence Awards celebration, held in mid-November at the Knoxville Marriott.

                The President’s Excellence Awards represent an expansion of previous Everest and Performance Excellence Award recognition events. This year’s awards reflected not only individual and team project accomplishments, but also focused on Covenant Health’s Pledge of Excellence in the selection of honorees. 

                “The pledge is the very core of who we are at Covenant Health,” said Jim VanderSteeg, President and CEO. “The President’s Excellence Awards still recognize individuals and teams, but more importantly, they recognize living, breathing examples of the Pledge of Excellence in action.”

                “The awards also honor leadership,” he continued. “Our health system’s most important obligation and opportunity is to develop strong leaders, and all of the employees who are being recognized are strong and committed leaders.”

                During the event VanderSteeg also gave a special word of thanks to employees from LeConte Medical Center and other facilities who assisted patients and families, first responders, employees and the community during last year’s wildfires in Gatlinburg. 

                Guest remarks were given by Jay Fitzsimmons, chairman of Covenant Health’s board of directors, who said that seeing the quality of individual leaders and teams in action is a source of pride and a “Connect to Purpose” for board members, who volunteer their time, talents and support on behalf of Covenant Health.


Amber Pritchett, RN Fort Loudoun Medical Center

Thirteen employees were selected as nominees in the Individual Achievement category:

  • Carlos Carrasquillo, nuclear medicine, Parkwest
  • Susan Davis, surgical technologist, Fort Sanders Regional
  • Brian Flanagan, facility services technician, Roane Medical Center
  • Charlene Howard, volunteer coordinator, Parkwest
  • Sandra Jones, transcriptionist, Parkwest Comprehensive Breast Center
  • Jay Jordan, cardiac rehab, LeConte
  • Michele Lloyd, physical therapist, Patricia Neal Rehabilitation Center
  • Angela Murr, administrative assistant, Peninsula
  • Amber Pritchett, RN team leader, Fort Loudoun Medical Center
  • Pam Sparks, educator, Parkwest
  • Randy Tingle, chaplain, Fort Sanders Regional
  • Stacy White, physician informatics, Covenant Health IT
  • Cindy Winterberger, clinical social worker, Covenant Hospice



Individual Achievement award winners for 2017 are: Charlene Howard, Michele Lloyd, Amber Pritchett, Pam Sparks, Randy Tingle and Cindy Winterberger.



For Team Achievement Awards, 16 projects were submitted for consideration. The selection process included pre-screening at the facility level, judging by external healthcare and process improvement professionals, and final selection by the Executive Leadership Team.  In addition to four Team Achievement awards, team awards were also given for Innovation, Improvement and Sustainability.


Congrats to FLMC for receiving a Team Achievement Award!

The Innovation Award was given to Fort Loudoun Medical Center and “The ‘Chasing Zero’ Culture Club.” Fort Loudoun Medical Center has used evidence-based research and goal setting based on concepts such as collective mindfulness, resiliency, and commitment to being a High-Reliability Organization and is the first hospital in Covenant Health to have a zero harm events over time in all four hospital-acquired infection categories.

In addition, all Covenant Health hospitals have advanced their stroke preparedness and are either certified or applying to be advanced primary stroke centers or “stroke-ready” hospitals.

 Many thanks to all who submitted projects and nominations, and congratulations to the 2017 award winners!